Swimming Saved Me

As I was swimming yesterday, I was thinking about how being in the water feels.  There is just something about the water — the weightlessness; the cooling; the rhythmic breathing; the way you can control your body’s passage by slight variations of hand and leg movements;  the quietness….

Swimming saved me.  I think it has many times in my life, in small and different ways, but these past couple of years it really and truly saved me (more another time).  And it has brought such joy to my life.  It has been the thread that has brought me back to friendships and helped build new ones.  It has physically revived me.  Swimming has challenged me as an adult. And it has emotionally fulfilled me.  Finally, it has brought me love.

So, just keep swimming……

Leave a Reply

