Things I’ll Miss

As I was prepping apricots (Blenheims of course!!) for jamming I started thinking about the things that I will miss about my house.

Fruit trees.  These apricots came from my parent’s.  At my old house I had two apricot trees, one planted for each child.  The taste of Blenheims meant it was summer; 4th of July.  All of the fruit trees that had been planted over the years bore at different times of the spring, summer and fall.  The rush of apricots right into plums meant jamming season was in full swing.

I’ll miss my garden.  This is the first year I will be without a garden since we moved last, which was eight years ago.

But the guilt kicks in when I think about how the kids talk about missing the “old” house.  I’ll miss seeing them grow up in a house;  a house that they can come back to when they are in college.  A real house to bring friends over to and hang out in.  A house with space to play, space to run around in, a backyard.

I don’t think I’ll ever be able to live in a house again.  It is way too crazy expensive around here.  Makes me sad to think about that sometimes.

Is a house home?  Or can I make “home” in something else?

Leave a Reply

